Dante’s Inferno : A Poetic Masterpiece [Review]


“No Sadness is greater than in misery to rehearse memories of joy”

Dante’s Inferno was released in 2010 after the launch of the horror game by Visceral games – ‘Dead Space’. It was published by EA Games and developed by Visceral Games. It is a role playing game in the hack and slash genre, loaded with action & adventure. The  concept of the game was adapted from the 14th century epic poem Divine Comedy by Dante Alighieri. The plot revolves around traveling nine circles of hell and facing your own dark past.

Story Line:

The story line of the game is based on a poem written by Dante Alighieri. Only a part of the poem was adapted for the game. The story revolves around the protagonist, Dante (a knight) during the times of the third Crusade. Dante is a crusader who loses his faith in God after having performed cruel deeds during the war.


Dante’s Inferno : Greed.

Dante is ordered to take the holy relic. During the attack Dante is stabbed by an Assassin. Death approaches Dante but he defeats death and takes back his weapon Scythe. Dante leaves the crusade with a red holy cross shaped tapestry stitched to his chest which depicts every sin from his past. He returns back to Florence to find his love Beatrice and her father, but he learns that both of them were assassinated.


Dante’s Inferno is an epic action adventure journey to behold.

The shadow of Lucifer (Satan) appears and takes Beatrice’s soul into darkness. Dante follows them and reaches the Chapel. He uses the holy cross to protect himself from evil. The earth cracks open due to this act of his and the gates of hell open up. He enters hell.

He goes through nine gates of hell:

  1. Limbo
  2. Lust
  3. Gluttony
  4. Greed
  5. Anger
  6. Heresy
  7. Violence
  8. Fraud
  9. Treachery

When Dante reaches treachery he meets Beatrice. Angel Gabriel appears and takes Beatrice’s soul to heaven . Dante continues his journey for Lucifer and finally encounters him. Lucifer then reveals that he used Beatrice as a bait because he knew that Dante would follow her through the realms of hell and end up freeing Lucifer.


Dante’s Inferno : Violence

After a fierce battle he defeats Lucifer before being taken to Purgatory by an angel. Dante then meets the soul of Beatrice who is waiting for him in Heaven.

Game Play:

This is a hack and slash game by all means. There are two major weapons for Dante – the holy cross and the scythe. More combos can be gained by filling souls in the weapons. At the initial level both weapons are same. It depends upon the player which one he/she wants to upgrade : holy or unholy. The game is full of puzzles and lybrinth of the hell. Mini game of purifying the damned souls also takes place wherein sins can be burned by pressing appropriate keys after which they are sent to heaven.


Dante’s Inferno : Limbo

ESRB Rating:

Rated “M” for blood and gore, intense violence and  sexual content .

Game Information:

Developers : Visceral Games

Publishers : Electronic Arts

Platforms : PS3, XBOX360 and PSP

Genre : Action and adventure

Mode : Role Playing Game

Ratings by other top game websites :

Game Informer: 7/10

IGN : 7.5/10

Destructoid : 9/10

Gamespot : 6.5/10


Unchartered 3 : Drake’s Deception [A Cinematic Extravaganza]

unchartered 3

Drake’s Deception is the third installment from the uncharted series after Unchartered : Drake’s Fortune and Uncharted : Among Thieves developed by Naughty Dog and published by Sony Computer Entertainment. This Game falls under the third person shooter category with action and adventure as its core genres and was released in November 2011. Different from its earlier parts, it can be played in single player, online multiplayer, online co-op, Split screen co-op. The game has Nathan Drake as its protagonist.

The game received 92% in reviews by aggregate website metacritic and 91.76% by game ranking and won many awards mainly in game of the year category including boys acting, graphics, story and cinematic experience. This is also one among those games which hold the record for sales in one day worldwide of 3.8 millions copies.


Drake’s Deception is a cinematic presentation.


The main motive of the story is to run and explore while defeating your enemies. In this game a ring of Nathan Drake plays a very important role. It belongs to his ancestor and explorer Sir Francis Drake. Nathan Drake travels around the world with his mentor Victor Sullivan to find the clues left by Sir Francis Drake who was sent by queen Elizabeth the 1st to find the lost city of Ubar located somewhere in Rub’al khali desert. After traveling and searching for clues in France, Syria, Yemen and finally the Rub’al Khali desert, he finds the lost city of Ubar. In the end killing  enemies and leaving the city in ruins.


The characters.


This game is different from its prequels in many ways including graphics and gameplay. Uncharted 3 can be played in single player, multiplayer and online multiplayer modes. Multiplayer and online multiplayer modes were not available in Uncharted 1 and Uncharted 2. No doubt previous parts of Uncharted were awesome but after making some changes in the game engine (Naughty Dog 3.1) game graphics have reached new heights. While playing the game you get a feeling that you are watching an animated Hollywood movie and controlling the characters with your thumbs.


The gameplay is intense and uses a collaborative environment.

Drake can take down opponents in 3 ways :

  1. Hand to hand combat
  2. Melee attack
  3. Weapon attack

Drake can be equipped with two fire arms – primary and secondary. Drake can keep four bombs with him. One fire arm can be single handed (pistols, uzi, revolver) and the other fire arm is double handed (granate launcher, rifle, spas12, AK47). The game also covers puzzles.

Here are some stills from the game you will enjoy (click to enlarge).